In-Ears

In-Ears are our specialty, and for a good reason: the best In-Ears can keep up with the crème de la crème of over-ear headphones (though they are different). In addition, they are much more mobile and match perfectly with portable Hi-Res players and mobile phones. Discover probably the best selection of high-end in-ears in Europe. Enjoy!

In-Ear brands in our store

Campfire Audio
Meze Audio
Empire
JH Audio (Jerry Harvey)
nobleman
Dita
Earsonics
Astell & Kern
AAW
radius
Shozy
Beyerdynamic
Beyerdynamic Xelento Wireless Headphone Company
InEar
64 Audio
Weston
etymotic

FAQs about In-Ears

Which are your favourite in-ears?

This is a matter of taste, therefore here only our own opinion and also a current status.

First the Champions League:

  • Universal fit: Empire Legend X, Campfire Solaris, Noble Khan, Campfire Andromeda (all), Meze Rai Penta, Dita Fealty and Shozy Pola39.
  • Custom Fit: Campfire Solstice and Equinox and JH Audio Layla/Roxanne.

Empire Legend X and Campfire Equinox are more present in the bass, Campfire Solaris and Andromeda S/Gold, Solstice and Shozy Pola39 are a bit more balanced, Meze Rai Penta, Campfire Andromeda, Noble Khan and especially Dita Fealty are a bit slimmer and more analytical (but by no means boring). The in-ears of JH Audio (Layla, Roxanne etc.) have a variable bass. All of them are outstanding for us and all of them stand for the best over-ears in bass.

  • Our favorites in the mid to upper price segment: Campfire Polaris and Empire Bravado (both with present bass)
  • In the lower to middle price segment: Campfire IO and Shozy BG (both rather analytical) - and as an entry-in-ear clearly Shozy Hibiki.
Can in-ears match the best over-ears?

The best in-ears can compete with the elite in over-ears. In the best case they sound even faster and often have even more bass & punch (if they fit perfectly). Open-back over-ears sound airier, more spacious and light-footed at best. But these are only tendencies. So it's a matter of taste. It is clear that in-ears have slowly but surely outstripped on-ears and even closed-back over-ears in the high-end segment, because they sound ingenious, are extremely compact and require very little power and therefore no separate headphone amplifier.   

Most of your in-ears are rated pretty high. Why?

Quite simply: we allow ourselves the luxury of offering only what we find great ourselves, and for that we fly constantly around the globe and look for the needle in the haystack. Not many people know the hidden pearls. 95% of the market is scrap, and leave it up to others to sell it. 

Why is it virtually impossible to test and compare audiophile in-ears in Europe?

It is. Here ;-)

The answer is simple. Many dealers haven't understood themselves, how good IEMs are. The market in Asia is light-years ahead.

Custom-fit or Universal-fit?

With universal-fits you are more flexible (they fit everybody in principle), and if they fit & seal really well (important especially for bass and mids), they are just as good as custom-fits. With custom-fits, you first have to get ilicone impressions made by an audiologist of your choice (this takes 5 minutes & costs approx. 20 EUR). The in-ears then fit like a glove. Nothing wobbles and nothing falls out. In addition, the sealing to the outside is excellent. However custom-fits (as the name already says) fit only you, which makes the resale almost impossible. In addition, the auricles can also change slightly after a few (usually many) years.

So it depends on the fit, and in particular whether the in-ear of choice (sound signature/price) is offered as universal and/or custom fit. 

Dynamic in-ears, Balanced-Armature, Elektrostats or Hybrids?

We are really fed-up of this tiresome and sometimes militant discussion. It does not matter in principle. What counts is the result! Take a look at our favourite in-ears ... these include BAs, dynamic drivers, electrostats and hybrid in-ears. Also the general prejudices (much/little bass, cold/warm etc.) are not always correct, because it always depends on how the makers implement the technology ... Ask us what we recommend for YOUR personal taste.

Silicone- or Foam-Eartips?

Again: this is a matter of taste. Foam tips sometimes hold better when silicone tips slip out, but you have to squeeze them first and then stick them into the ear canal! But sometimes they can "soften" the heights a bit. Every manufacturer has his own preferences. Best try both. But there are also many different silicone tips that you should also try.

And two more tips: small ears do not necessarily mean that the small ear tips fit best. Try the bigger ones too. Also try different sizes of Ear-Tips in both ears. Especially with the Final Type E (our favourite tips) it's worth it (they come in 5 sizes!).

What about bluetooth in-ears?

Bluetooth has two principles: "True Wireless" IEMs contain everything in the in-ears (BT, battery, chip, converter, controls etc.). But ... the in-ears are bulky, and you can throw them away if any electronic part breaks or the Bluetooth is outdated. Also, be aware that you wear a radio receiver directly in your ear.

We recommend a classic in-ear and a separate Bluetooth module, which you can wear with a short cable, virtually invisible in the neck or on your shirt. The IEMs are another league (depending on the model), far less susceptible (electronics, battery etc.) and future-proof. Great BT-modules are the upcoming model from Campfire and the XB10 of Astell & Kern.

In-Ears

In-Ears sind unser Spezialgebiet, und das aus gutem Grund: die besten In-Ears können klanglich inzwischen mit der Crème de la Crème großer Kopfhörer mithalten (auch wenn sie anders sind). Zudem sind sie viel mobiler und können mit portablen Hi-Res Playern und Handys bespielt werden. Entdecken Sie bei uns die vermutlich beste Auswahl hochwertiger In-Ears in Europa. Viel Spaß!

In-Ear Marken in unserem Shop

Campfire Audio
Meze Audio
Empire
JH Audio (Jerry Harvey)
Noble
Dita
Earsonics
Astell & Kern
AAW
Radius
Shozy
Beyerdynamic
Beyerdynamic-Xelento-Wireless_Headphone-Company
InEar
64 Audio
Westone
Etymotic

Fragen und Antworten zu In-Ears

Welches sind eure Lieblings-In-Ears?

Das ist Geschmacksache, daher hier nur unsere eigene Meinung und auch eine aktuelle Bestandsaufnahme.

Zuerst die Champions-League:

  • Universal fit: Empire Legend X, Campfire Solaris, Noble Khan, Campfire Andromeda (alle), Meze Rai Penta, Dita Fealty und Shozy Pola39.
  • Custom Fit: Campfire Equinox und JH Audio Layla/Roxanne.

Empire Legend X und Campfire Equinox sind präsenter im Bass, Campfire Solaris und Andromeda S/Gold sowie Shozy Pola39 sind etwas ausgewogener, Meze Rai Penta, Campfire Andromeda, Noble Khan und insbesondere Dita Fealty sind etwas schlanker und analytischer (aber keineswegs langweilig). Die In-Ears von JH Audio (Layla, Roxanne etc.) haben einen variablen Bass. Alle sind für uns herausragend und alle stehen den besten Over-Ears in Nichts nach – sie sind nur anders!

  • Unsere Lieblinge im mittleren bis gehobenen Preis-Segment: Campfire Polaris und Empire Bravado (beide mit präsenten Bässen)
  • Im unteren bis mittleren Preissegment: Campfire IO und Shozy BG (beide eher analytisch) – und als Einstiegs-In-Ear ganz klar Shozy Hibiki.
Können In-Ears so gut sein wie Over-Ears?

Die besten In-Ears können sich mit der Elite der Over-Ears messen. Sie klingen im besten Fall sogar etwas schneller und haben oft sogar noch mehr Bass & Punch (dafür müssen sie aber perfekt sitzen). Offene Over-Ears klingen im besten Fall etwas luftiger, räumlicher und leichtfüßiger. Dies sind aber nur Tendenzen. Es ist also Geschmacksache. Klar ist, dass In-Ears den On-Ears und sogar den geschlossenen Over-Ears im High-End Segment langsam aber sicher den Rang abgelaufen haben, denn sie klingen genial, sind extrem kompakt und benötigen sehr wenig Leistung und somit keinen separaten/stationären Kopfhörer-Verstärker.   

Eure In-Ears sind insgesamt sehr hoch bewertet. Warum das?

Ganz einfach: wir erlauben uns den Luxus, nur das anzubieten, was wir selbst toll finden, und dafür fliegen wir auch permanent um den halben Globus und suchen die Nadel im Heuhaufen. Die wahren Pretiosen kennen nämlich nicht viele. 95% am Markt ist Schrott, und das sollen andere verkaufen. 

Warum kann man fast nirgendwo in Europa audiophile In-Ears vergleichen und testen?

Doch. Bei uns ;.)

Die Antwort ist: weil viele Händler selbst noch gar nicht begriffen haben, wie gut In-Ears inzwischen sind … In Asien ist man uns um Lichtjahre voraus.

Custom-fit oder Universal-fit?

Mit Universal-fits ist man flexibler (sie passen prinzipiell jedem), und wenn sie wirklich gut sitzen & abdichten (wichtig insbesondere für Bass und Mitten), sind sie Custom-fits durchaus ebenbürtig. Bei Custom-fits macht man zunächst beim Hörgeräte-Akustiker vor Ort Silikon-Abdrück (das dauert 5 Minuten & kostet ca. 20 EUR). Die In-Ears passen dann wie angegossen. Es wackelt nichts und es fällt nichts raus. Außerdem ist die Abdichtung nach außen hervorragend. Allerdings passen Custom-fits (wie der Name schon sagt) nur Einem, was den Wiederverkauf fast unmöglich macht. Außerdem können sich die Ohrmuscheln nach einigen (meist sehr vielen) Jahren auch leicht verändern.

Es kommt also auf die Passform an, und insbesondere, ob der In-Ear der Wahl (Klang-Signatur/Preis) als universal- und/oder custom-fit angeboten wird. 

Dynamische In-Ears, Balanced-Armature, Elektrostaten oder Hybrid?

Wir können diese leidigen und manchmal militant geführten Diskussionen nicht mehr hören. Es ist im Prinzip egal. Was zählt, ist das Ergebnis! Schauen Sie sich unsere Lieblings-In-Ears an … darunter sind BAs, dynamische, elektrostatische und Hybrid-In-Ears. Auch die pauschalen Vorturteile (viel/wenig Bass, kalt/warm etc.) stimmen nicht immer, denn es kommt immer darauf an, WIE man die Technologie umsetzt … Fragen Sie uns am besten danach, was wir für IHREN persönlichen Geschmack empfehlen.

Silikon- oder Foam-Eartips?

Auch hier: Geschmacksache. Foam-Tips halten manchmal besser, wenn Silikon-Tips rausrutschen, aber man muss sie zuerst kneten und dann rausch (!) in den Ohrkanal stecken! Sie können aber manchmal die Höhen einen Tick „soften“. Jeder Hersteller hat hier seine eigene Vorlieben. Am besten beides probieren. Es gibt aber auch sehr viele unterschiedliche Silikon-Tips, die man auch probieren sollte.

Und noch zwei Tips: kleine Ohren heißt nicht unbedingt, dass die kleinen Ear-Tips am besten passen. Ruhig mal die Größeren probieren. Außerdem ruhig auch mal verschiedene Größen an Ear-Tips in beiden Ohren probieren. Gerade bei den Final Type E (unsere Lieblings-Tips) lohnt sich das (sie kommen in 5 Größen!).

Was haltet ihr von Bluetooth-In-Ears?

Bei Bluetooth gibt es zwei Prinzipien: Bei „True Wireless“ ist alles in den In-Ears drin (BT, Akku, Chip, Wandler, Bedienelemente etc.). Aber … die In-Ears sind klobig, und man kann sie wegwerfen, wenn die Elektronik spinnt bzw. das Bluetooth veraltet ist. Außerdem trägt man Funkempfänger direkt im Ohr.

Wir empfehlen einen klassischen In-Ear und dazu ein separates Bluetooth-Modul, welches man mit einem kurzen Kabel de facto unsichtbar im Nacken oder am Shirt trägt. Die Hörer sind um Welten besser (je nach Hörer), weitaus weniger anfällig (Elektronik, Akku etc.) und zukunftssicher. Top-Lösungen sind das kommende Modul von Campfire und der XB10 von Astell & Kern.